top of page

United five by Fernanda Lemos (Review)

“ Movies have an ending. Life just keeps going after the happily ever after. That´s the beauty of living”

Hello lovely readers? How are you? Today I´m going to give you a review from this book I have read called United Five, a young-adult written by Fernanda Lemos. The author provided me a copy of her book in exchange of an honest review and as you´ve heard before, that´s exactly what you´re going to get. Let me show you the book´s synopsis so we´re on the same page and you get me a little better.

Sixteen-year-old half-brazilian Lillian Campos and her best friend Sophia are the United Five’s biggest fans, but when they win a contest to meet their favorite boy band, they discover that life in the spotlight is much more complicated than it looks in the pages of Us Weekly. When Lillian befriends mysterious singer Noah, she’s drawn into a world of jet-setting, paparazzi, and crazed fans.

And speaking of crazed, her father’s new girlfriend Marianne seems to think Lillian is her number-one rival. In the midst of major changes in her family, Lillian’s feelings for Noah bloom into something bigger, bu

t with the gossip mags already spreading rumors, how much longer can she survive under the media microscope?

We have a teenager called Lillian Campos, this girl has a best friend called Sophia and they´re big fans of United Five, which is band conformed by five guys, all British. Sophia finds out about a contest that a magazine is doing, the winner will get a trip to New York city to go to a concert of United Five and make them an interview, luckily they win, so next thing you know, they´re heading New York to experience the best thing in their whole lives.

I´ll say, in my own opinion, I feel like the author rushed things up a little at the beginning, I felt like one page I was reading about the girls finding out about the contest, and in the other one I was already reading when they we´re in the concert at New York and doing the interview.

I must say I don´t think this story is unique, I think this story is something I have read, I felt as if I was reading a fan fiction story, because I think how some things happened in this story, usually only happen in those type of books. But I must say I got identified with this girl pretty quickly, practically to the whole book, and no, not just because the main character is called Lillian and my name is Ilian. I was a pretty obsessive fan of a boy band too, and that´s the reason I found it enjoyable to read.


Lillian has a celebrity crush on Noah, who´s the shiest member of United Five and when they´re getting ready to do the interview, Lillian goes to the bathroom, and hears a conversation she shouldn´t have, Noah is talking with another band member about a heartbreak he just passed through, and how he doesn´t want to talk about it. As a result, Lillian changes the whole interview so she doesn´t have to make uncomfortable questions about the heartbreak the guy just went through. Then things got a little unbelievable for me, because Noah approaches this girl and then the celebrity crushed she has, becomes something else, something more than a crush. I think over this part of the book the author went pretty quickly, because we didn´t get to see how this two even became friends, and not fully meaning the process, I could have liked it more if she put more of the reason they became so close friends.


As the book went on, as I have said before, was pretty enjoyable and pretty easy too read, it didn´t have complex language or anything and I truly liked it. I´ll say the story was pretty well structured, but I think the trouble, the climax, could have been stronger, they we´re good in my truly opinion, but I think she could have make them better. One character we did know pretty well, was Noah, one of the main characters, and let me please tell you, I fell in love with him, the author did a pretty good job developing him.


If you´re looking for something to read right now and you don´t want anything heavy or complex, I´ll recommend you United Five, even though I think the story was written in a pretty quick way it was something pretty amusing to read. I´ll have to say the main story is something you may have read before, but the author adds some things to make her story unique, and I liked the book simply because of that, because of it´s details and Noah, yeah, just because he´s who he is, that´s why I give this book 3.5/5. So if you want to meet this lovely guy, I´ll recommend you to go and check this story, yes, go on, and if you fall in love with him, sorry, got him first. See you next time readers!

Links:

Ilian S.

bottom of page