top of page

Legacy (Andalucian Nights, #3) by Hannah Fielding

"I promise not to pursue you any more." His voice was firm but husky. "However there's nothing to stop you from changing your mind whenever you want."

He gave her one last burning look. "When you do, I'll be there."

Disclaimer: I was given a copy of Legacy in return for an honest review. That doesn’t persuade my true opinion of the book. This is a spoiler free review.

If I was to associate Legacy with a beverage I would say without a doubt that's lemonade. A cold and refreshing glass of lemonade with a little umbrella sticking out of it. The type of drink you drink during those long summer, never-ending days under the sun.

Lemonade.

Legacy stands alone as the third and final book in the Andalucian Nights trilogy. This means you don't have to read the previous books in order to read and fully understand Legacy. However, you should know that the Andalucian Nights trilogy holds withing its pages the story of three generations: in Indiscretion (1st book in the Andalucian Nights trilogy) we follow our main characters Alexandra de Falla and Salvador, who will happen to be in book number three, the grandparents of our male main character, Ruy. In book number two (Masquerade) we follow Luz de Rueda and Andrés de Calderón, who will be Ruy's parents (are you catching up?). So if you want to get the whole wide picture, I suggest you to read Indiscretion and Masquerade first.

With that being said, let's jump right in.

In Legacy, we follow our main character, Luna Ward, a troubled young journalist that finds her loyalties tested when love and desire unearth dark secrets from the past, as she travels halfway across the world to work undercover at an alternative health clinic in Cádiz.

I found this book to be exactly what I needed. I couldn't have picked it up in a better time of my life. I was feeling suffocated with all the amount of school work that I had to do. In a world where I was drowning (in homework, exams, and university courses), this book reminded as the anchor that held me together. When all I wished for was to go to the beach and relax a little bit, Legacy gave me just that: sunny days on the beach, long walks through Barcelona's streets, flamenco dances and music.

While reading Legacy, you can feel the sand trickling through your toes, you can hear the waves and sense the air playing with your hair. That's how delicious and beautiful Hannah's writing is. She makes your senses come to life and make you experience physically what the characters are feeling. And even though Legacy is a cliché story where the almighty good-looking typical fuckboy falls in love with the pure and good girl, it also has its charms that pushes you to keep reading until the very end regardless of the forthcoming events.

As for the love in this story, I'm not particulary a big fan of it. Both characters are smoking hot (or at least, that's what we've been told), and yes, the attraction is there, you can feel it, and even though I had no problems with the plot nor the story itself, I still think Luna and Ruy had yet a lot to know about the other before falling in love with each other. Shit happens in this book, okay? and when it happened, I felt as if they solved their problems way to fast for my liking. I wanted tears, suffering, betrayel, anything that could thicken the climax of the story even more. But, hey, I'm a war-sucker type of story person, don't forget about that.

Now let's talk about the gypsies, shall we?

I love learning about all kinds of cultures, and we definitely see that in Fielding's novel. The gypsy element she adds to the whole essence of the book is perfect: it's given in the exact dose so that you won't find it too annoying but all the contrary. Fielding knew very well how to balance a scientific topic and a nature/spirituality one, and you learn how to appreciate that.

If you are a sucker for romance novels, you should better read this one. It will make your day. And yes, even though I wasn't very convinced about their love story, it still remains as a good book that I enjoyed very much. Fans of Paullina Simons writing style should consider reading Fielding's Legacy. You'll devour it. I believe Hanna Fielding to be a great, great writer that should be more commonly known between readers as she has proved to have what it takes to write a good and entertaining story like very few can. After reading Legacy I found myself being quite pumped about her other books, so I might as well read them all too. As for you, do yourself a favor, relax, and read Legacy. Doubt no more and do so.

My rating: 80/100

bottom of page