top of page

Dragon Trap by Sarah Marsh


Hello, guys! I'm Lídice and today I'm back with another book review! Yes, another one. So here's the deal. I received a message not so long ago where they asked me if I was interested in reviewing Sarah's Marsh new release Dragon Trap, I said yes, and the rest is what we called history. So, shall we begin?

Dragon Trap is a sexy Sci-fi book that stands alone as the fifth book in the Coalition Mates series (right after Sarah's Crew, Talia's Match, Eve's Rescue, and Surrender).

So what is this book about? In Dragon Trap we follow our main human character, Marisol whose only and lifetime dream has been to have a children of her own but her ex-husband back on Earth made sure that never happened. Now after waking up in an alien planet, she's more determined than ever to make her dream come true. So she's agreed to sign the contract that will give her what she wants and begin the journey to her new home in Dolovia planet. But things go horribly wrong when space pirates and Frankenstein mad doctors attacked her and the ship crew. Marisol has now ended in a quarantine planet where all creatures are ten times bigger and more dangerous than in any other planet who want to have her for dinner. Good thing she's not alone, for there are Luca and Baelion, two dragon shifters who must protect here and make sure she's returned back to Sirus planet. Mari finds out the hard way that life often gets in the way of best-laid plans… and dragon shifters most definitely do get in the way of hers. Good thing for her that dragons are naturally quite stubborn once they decide they want something—and they’ve decided she’s theirs.

I want to begin by pointing out very quickly that this book shouldn't be read if you are under eighteen years. I read it and I'm sixteen years, so take my word. I must say I have very messy feelings towards this book. There are good things and bad things about it and I want to share my thoughts about it with you.

Things I didn't like about this book

This is something personal, but I think it's important to mention it because it might change your point of view of this book if you, unlike me, enjoy this genre. I've read erotica books before. I have. But I must say this isn't my favorite genre. The fact that Dragon Trap is an erotica book made it hard for me to put this book as one of my favorites.

Descriptions. Man, I'm totally into descriptions. If I don't feel myself in the book, I'm so not into the book itself. I want the whole experience, you know what I'm saying? Dragon Trap has very little descriptions, but again, it's because of the genre.

The trio thing. I'm so not into this, guys. I'm not. And I understand that a trio is a very common sexual fantasy for some fellas, but it is definitely not mine. It was exactly the trio that made it a little bit hard for me to read this book. I would give you a very long lecture about this, I would, but that would take more space in this post and more time of yours that I don't pretend to waste.

I'm a big fan of the "Show, don't tell". And in Dragon Trap we get to see a lot of telling rather than showing. We are been told that Marisol is very strong and capable of many things, and yet, I didn't see that at all. Also, I didn't feel this book real because of the emotions sets and the very, very quick adaptation of our main character. Let's put it this way: If you land in a highly dangerous, toxic, planet full with creatures that want to eat you, will you be going around having sex with two people that you have just met? What the fudge, man! I mean, seriously? Is that going to be your reaction? Is that what are you going to do? Stop being so hormonal and find a way back to your planet for God sake.

Things I actually liked about this book

Thing is, even though this book falls in the erotica genre, I quite enjoyed it and that's because it had a little sci-fi to it. I really, really appreciated this. See, the thing with the erotica genre is that most authors write about the same plot but with different names and locations. Sarah didn't do this, and that was a breath of fresh air. She worked her brains out to create all these different planets and multi-colorful alines. I liked that I didn't feel like reading just another erotica novel.

The book has a total of thirty-nine chapters and the epilogue, and when I was reading the book, the chapters just flew. They were so short (or at least I felt them like that) and made the reading a fast and enjoyable one.

The title. Geez. I liked the title. I don't know about you guys, but I'm a freak when it comes to titles. And this title was definitely good. At first, I didn't understand it at all but when the meaning of it was under my comprehension... Oh, my. Good choice for it, Sarah. Very good one.

The ending

I'm not going to spoil you the ending but, can we please talk about it? I mean, what the fudg! Does that ending means the realese of a next book? Does it, Sarah?

Overall

If you don't like erotica books at all, this book is not for you, fella. But if you do, you should really give this book a try. Is short, fast, entertaining, and passionate. Sarah Marsh knows exactly how to turn readers on and make them wonder what will come next. I still think she could have done so much more to add more action because she had the material to do it. Very good material. Space pirates, mad doctors, aliens... yep, good material.

Rating: 2.5/5

And that, my lovely fellas, is all for today. Thank you for reading! Oh, and just a quick reminder to participate in our first #giveaway by:

1. Subscribing to our blog 2. Commenting down below in "In the Shadow of the Hanging Tree" review post, why you're interested in reading the book 3. Share our link on Facebook by using the hashtag #blogbetterthanvlog and tell everyone a reason to visit us

Winners will be announced as soon as we received the copies from the author.

With love,

L.

bottom of page