top of page

Ten favorite kick-ass characters

Hoooww, ya doin', guys? Is October! I can't believe it! We are finally in October, how spooky is that? Have you found a cool Halloween costume yet? Is anyone thinking of doing cosplay? I've been thinking about it all year, I sweeear.

Anyhow, I'm back. Yeah, ya hard all right, momma's back. This time, I won't be doing a TBR list nor a book review or anything I've done before, so held tight cause, this time, I will make a countdown list of my 10 favorite kick-ass characters!

Perhaps we share a favorite character or two so let's make some conversation and tell me if we do.

10

Percy Jackson from the "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Percy is amazing. I really like this character cause nobody expects nothing from him and he still keeps on giving the best of himself. He's also such a stupid character, ya know? Seriously! Like, every time there's a new prophecy saying that he's more likely going to die, he's just going in the quest anyway. Percy is my definition of what Y.O.L.O really means. Also, I read this in Tumblr the other night, where it said that if Percy is the Sea God's son, that means he's like fish Jesus, right? I'm so done. Let fish Jesus set you free.

9

Fred and George Weasley from the "Harry Potter" series

So far I've read 4 books in the Harry Potter series, but I can tell already there'll be no other character I'll like more than Fred and George. Okay, no, they are not what I would call a kick-ass character...but still, they are just SO FANTASTIC I don't even know where to begin with and I felt this uncanny need to add them to the list. The Weasley twins were actually one of the main reasons I kept reading the next books. They are funny as fuck and hilarious and so impressive... God, I just adore them. J.K. Rowling did a great job with them.

8

Will Herondale from "The Infernal Devices" trilogy.

First things first. He's a Herondale, so I think that sets things pretty much. As you may know, I have a thing with screw-up characters with a black sense of humor. Will's just like that. He's also charming and classic and HE READS! Will LOVES to read which gives him 50 extra points! God, I just felt like Dumbledore.


7

Mr. Darcy from "Pride and Prejudice"

Ohh, Mr. Darcy, where to start? Austen did not just do a tremendous fabulous job creating him, she nailed it. Yes, he has his imperfections. No, that does not make him less of a good character. The fact that Austen made him a little proud, spoilt and overbearing just gave us an idea of what men actually were to women back then. However, Darcy has his good side too. He's generous, humble, affectionate, honorable, very dutiful and quite forgiving. And even though I wasn't very fond of him in the first pages of Pride and Prejudice, I loved him when he began to have this war with himself because of the prejudices he had made up toward Elizabeth and the love feelings that were haunting him.


6

Elizabeth Bennet from "Pride and Prejudice".

If Darcy was on this list, of course, Elizabeth would be too! She is really such an incredible kick-ass character and not because she fights or holds long and dangerous daggers (in fact, she doesn't do that all) but because she's everything but stupid. Elizabeth first distinctive quality is her self-pride. She knows she has flaws but she keeps her head high and accepts them like she accepts others. She's also very courageous and strong. She's not afraid to speak her mind out and for that, Elizabeth is one of many readers favorite character.


5

Claire Randall/ Fraser from the "Outlander" series

Okay, so there are tough women, there are really tough women, and then there's Claire motherfucking Fraser. Claire is the main female character of one of my favorite books EVER. Outlander is a book about time-travel, war, and epic romance. And Claire is the woman who falls into time, from the 20th century back to the 18th century. 200 years of difference! If I were her, I would be totally panicked and perhaps I wouldn't even make it alive for longer than 20 minutes. But she did, and not just that, but she's determinate to change history. She's the type of character that won't stand others do the job, she'll just do it herself. Claire is genuinely a vigorous, smart, high-spirited, kick-ass character and everybody should read her story cause is breath-taking.


4

Alexander Barrington from "The Bronze Horseman" trilogy


This maaaaan. OH. MY. GOD. Alexander has made it to my Top 3 Favorite Fictional Boyfriends in position #2. He's so FUCKING REALISTIC it hurts. Alexander is an American soldier working for the Russian Red Army in Second World War. If the war background isn't enough, Alexander carries a long, long sad an almost depressing history since he was a child. Simons did not just create one of the best characters ever, she created a MARVELOUS piece of art. Alexander is such a loyal, carrying and passionate character like no other I've read before. He's tough when he has to but he's also really delightful. Alexander is the most strong-spirit character I've read. And yes, to be honest, he is quite flawed but that's exactly why I love him so much. I do believe he is one of the best-written heroes ever.



3

Jamie Fraser from the "Outlander" series


Jesus H. Roosvelt Christ. *sigh* Jamie is the best gift to woman kind ever since Mr. Darcy. He's my #1 favorite bookish boyfriend of ALL TIMES. There aren't enough words to describe such a character like Jamie. In the books, Jamie describes himself as a really stubborn lad. I myself must agree with him. Jamie is pretty stubborn in all matters of great importance to him. But besides being stubborn, he's also notable courageous, and you can see that since his first appearance in the story. If that's not enough, you can also add broad-minded, courteous, sensible, hard-working, quick-witted and romantic to the list. A list that keeps going and going... What I like about Jamie the most is his ability to be so talkative. Jamie went to Hell and back, and he would always sit still and talked about his experience. That must have been hard as fuck but he did it anyway, and for doing that I personally give him 100 points! You really, really MUST read Outlander. You WON'T regret it.


2

Tatiana Metanova form "The Bronze Horseman" trilogy

Have you ever read a book that made you question everything you believe in? A book where the characters are so human that makes you think what kind of person you are? Well, that's exactly what happened to me after reading 'The Bronze Horseman'. And that's exactly what will happen to you too after reading it. Tatiana's our main character and as I said before while describing Alexander Barrington, their story takes place in World War Two in a little city called Leningrad, Russia. Everything is coming to pieces, the sky has changed, the colors fade, summer is no longer a thing while the cold and icy nights keep gaining the fight... the people are dying, her family is dying... there's no food, no water, no clothes, no money, there's nobody... and yet, Tatiana makes her way out of everything. Tatiana survives and not just that, she helps others. And after every single damn thing she's been through, she still keeps having faith in something better. I absolutely loved that about her. My life goal is to be just like her.




1

Tyrion Lannister from the "Game of Thrones" series

I'm so not lying when I say I HAVE NO WORDS strong enough to describe this GINORMOUSLY, AMAZING KICK-ASS CHARACTER. Gee, guuuys!!! The feelings are too much for me to handle them right now, so all I'm going to say is that you MUST read the Game of Thrones series only because of Tyrion. Tyrion is the boss here, okay? Is that clear? It would be just fine for me to have his babies, just sayin'...




bottom of page