top of page

Sebastian's October TBR

Hey guys, it’s my birthday…, or more like my birthmonth, so you can expect an ego-boosting narcissistic entry about the most attractive writer you could ever possibly find in this universe, and by that I mean me, really soon, the day coming on Sunday is just a plus since that is my writing day on this blog, yes if you haven’t noticed, we have a calendar for this thing. But for that, you’ll have to wait, in the meantime you get to know what will be my October TBR list.

First off we start this amazing literary adventure with:

ENCLAVE

New York City has been decimated by war and plague, and most of civilization has migrated to underground enclaves, where life expectancy is no more than the early 20's. When Deuce turns 15, she takes on her role as a Huntress, and is paired with Fade, a teenage Hunter who lived Topside as a young boy. When she and Fade discover that the neighboring enclave has been decimated by the tunnel monsters--or Freaks--who seem to be growing more organized, the elders refuse to listen to warnings. And when Deuce and Fade are exiled from the enclave, the girl born in darkness must survive in daylight--guided by Fade's long-ago memories--in the ruins of a city whose population has dwindled to a few dangerous gangs.

By Ann Aguirre, this dystopian post-apocalyptic young-adult novel tells the story of Deuce, a young girl living in an Enclave, a society living in a bunker, hiding from the horrendous mutated creatures that a past war has left, one the humanity once called "World War 3". I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but that's actually the way I do it, and when I saw this one, I couldn't help myself.

THE ZODIAC LEGACY: THE DRAGON'S RETURN

In this second illustrated novel of The Zodiac Legacy series, the dangerous dragon power only grows stronger within Jasmine, and Steven struggles to hold their ragtag team together. But as alliances become strained, the line between the "good guys" and the "bad guys" becomes blurrier and blurrier. And it all culminates in a major cliffhanger that readers won't see coming!

That's right guys, I'm already planning on starting to read the second part of this series without even reviewing the first one, my bad, but I really want to continue this series since I really liked convergence, and I've gotta admit, I really wasn't planning on liking it, not that I wanted to completely despise it on purpose, but I picked it up as something to distract me a little bit from the world, and it became so much more, on that subject, you can expect that review next week if everything goes as planned.

And finally, my third and final book for this TBR, and as such the most important one, is *enter drumrolls*:

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS

When twentysomething A., the unexpected European relative of the Wells family, and his companion, Niamh, a mute teenage girl with shockingly dyed hair, inherit the beautiful but eerie estate of Axton House, deep in the woods of Point Bless, Virginia, it comes as a surprise to everyone—including A. himself. After all, he never even knew he had a "second cousin, twice removed" in America, much less that the eccentric gentleman had recently committed suicide by jumping out of the third floor bedroom window—at the same age and in the same way as his father had before him . . .

Together, A. and Niamh quickly come to feel as if they have inherited much more than just a rambling home and a cushy lifestyle. Axton House is haunted, they know it, but that's just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the secrets they slowly but surely uncover. Why all the suicides? What became of the Axton House butler who fled shortly after his master died? What lurks in the garden maze and what does the basement vault keep? And what of the rumors in town about a mysterious gathering at Axton House on the night of the winter solstice?

What's promised is debt, this book has been following me around like the plague since my very first TBR and still haven't read it, so, as I told you on my September TBR, and because I'm a man of my word (*yeah right) here it is, The Supernatural Enhancements as my top priority for this month, I hope you all are happy.

And that's basically it guys, my October TBR list, but, before we wrap this thing up I want to give some little sidenotes:

1.-First off I want to address the lack of Halloween-esque references or questions about what you're gonna wear, and that's because I really don't celebrate Halloween, not because I'm some kind of extremist religious person, but rather because I'm a bitter and boring as fuck teenager, so don't expect me to do anything related to "Horror" this month, the fact that my priority book theme is exactly that is just a coincidence.

2.-Second of all, I'm announcing a new section of this blog, that's right, an all new, all different (by this point you should know I love to make comic book references or puns so I'm not going to explain this one, if you want to you can search the phrase on Google) section, I'm not telling you what's it about because... reasons? but if nothing goes wrong you can expect this new section's very first article tomorrow, not that I'm promising anything here, sometimes I get bored and don't want to write.

BY:SEBAS

bottom of page