top of page

Sebastian's September TBR


Hello and good evening everyone!

Here's your boy Sebas making a triumphant return back from the horrendous claws of death, and don't you worry your small and limited minds guys, that month-worth vacation wasn't because I got tired of writing (or you), I was just settling into a new academic environment, but now that I have returned, I'm bigger, smarter, stronger, and hungrier (for books) than ever! and it's because of this that I decided to celebrate my homecoming (Spiderman pun intended) to this blog by finally making my: TBR OF THE MONTH!

I, as any respected reader, have got tons and tons of books on my bookshelf waiting to be opened, waiting to be read and discovered, and is my responsibility (not that I have any sense of it) to give them a new life, so, without further ado, here it is, my September tbr:

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS

When twentysomething A., the unexpected European relative of the Wells family, and his companion, Niamh, a mute teenage girl with shockingly dyed hair, inherit the beautiful but eerie estate of Axton House, deep in the woods of Point Bless, Virginia, it comes as a surprise to everyone—including A. himself. After all, he never even knew he had a "second cousin, twice removed" in America, much less that the eccentric gentleman had recently committed suicide by jumping out of the third floor bedroom window—at the same age and in the same way as his father had before him . . . Together, A. and Niamh quickly come to feel as if they have inherited much more than just a rambling home and a cushy lifestyle. Axton House is haunted, they know it, but that's just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the secrets they slowly but surely uncover. Why all the suicides? What became of the Axton House butler who fled shortly after his master died? What lurks in the garden maze and what does the basement vault keep? And what of the rumors in town about a mysterious gathering at Axton House on the night of the winter solstice?

That's right guys, I still haven't read this one, even when I promised you I would on my last tbr, so, first of all, I'm sorry, second of all, this book has been waiting for me since 2014 and I think it can wait a little longer, but in all seriousness, if I really don't finish this book by the end of this month, it will become my number one priority for my October tbr and that's a promise, not like the one before that I broke, I will (try harder to) keep this one.

VORTEX

The impossible was just the beginning. Now in their second year as superhuman government weapons-in-training at the Pentagonal Spire, Tom Raines and his friends are mid-level cadets in the elite combat corps known as the Intrasolar Forces. But as training intensifies and a moment arrives that could make or break his entire career, Tom’s loyalties are again put to the test. Encouraged to betray his ideals and friendships for the sake of his country, Tom is convinced there must be another way. And the more aware he becomes of the corruption surrounding him, the more determined he becomes to fight it, even if he sabotages his own future in the process. Drawn into a power struggle more dramatic than he has ever faced before, Tom stays a hyperintelligent step ahead of everyone, like the exceptional gamer he is—or so he believes. But when he learns that he and his friends have unwittingly made the most grievous error imaginable, Tom must find a way to outwit an enemy so nefarious that victory seems hopeless. Will his idealism and bravado cost him everything—and everyone that matters to him?

The second part of the wonderfully put together "Insignia Saga", now, the analytic and eagle-eyed part of the audience may be thinking: Hey, but where's the Insignia Review? since it's the first part of it, well, let me tell you that that review it's still in the works, on the writing process, but it will come very soon if everything goes as planned, which usually doesn't.

And now, for the book priority of the month, here it comes, wait for it, wait for it:

THE ZODIAC LEGACY: CONVERGENCE

When twelve magical superpowers are unleashed on the world, a Chinese-American teenager named Steven will be thrown into the middle of an epic global chase. He'll have to master strange powers, outrun super-powered mercenaries, and unlock the mysterious powers of the Zodiac.

Now, I've gotta say I don't know anything about this book, like literally nothing at all, I just couldn't help myself when I saw the name of Stan "The Man" Lee on the front cover, the comic book/superhero lover part of me couldn't resist such temptation, only thing I can say is I hope it's a good book and it won't disappoint me, but I'm really not that sure about it, then again, I only bought for Stan Lee.

And that's basically it, my friends, my tbr for this beautiful September, I know they're not a lot of books but that's just me, I like to call myself a light-reader or slow-reader, which definitely won't help me with the infinite list of books I've got on hold, anyway, hope you're having a nice week and bye bye

BY: SEBAS

bottom of page