top of page

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan


How you doing, peeps! Today I got you the Percy Jackson review! But first things first: You must know that I'm not into children's books. I mostly think it is that way cause I'm the type of reader who needs a huge, messy, almost-imposible-to-solve-plot with really screw-up characters and with, if not a lot, at least the necessary descriptions to actually make me feel that I'm in the exact place where the scene is taking place. Otherwise, I don't find the book a very good deal. HOWEVER, it surprised me a lot when I read Percy Jackson and I just couldn't let it down for a second.


I'll tell you the type o relationship this book and I got. See, thing is, there's nothing more powerful than fandoms. I believe in fandoms, I really do. Fandoms have this thing I cannot explain; all these poweres of persuation and addiction... and, well, the fandom broke me. They were soo insistent I just couldn't deny the guilty pleasure that was growing within my soul, so when I saw that Annabeth called Percy seaweed brain I just knew it was time to pick up the book and have a meeting with the greek gods.


Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus's master lighting bolt has been stolen and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed in his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with his father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betray by a friend; and untravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

I seriously plan to make my children (when I have any) read this book. Oh, yeahhh, Percy Jackson will be the first book they will ever read. Percy is an 11-year-old kiddo and he really acts like it. It was hilarious to be in Percy's mind and get to see all of his thoughts. That's what I mainly loved about this book. If I had to describe Percy I will dare to say that he's a "yolo" type of character. I mean it! Everytime there was a deathly monster attacking him and his friends, Percy, somehow, always managed to save their asses. And what is best, he was surprised, too whenever he discovered themselves not dead. He did all this cheerring in his head and gave himself a mental high-five, and I adore him for that! You know what was also pretty cool? The fact that he only ate blue food! Oh, oh! And the relation he had with Annabeth? Oh, gods, oh gods! PERCABETH SHIPPER RIGHT HERE! Damn, I love Percy. I want a Percy. I need a Percy.



And now, the time everyone was waiting...

PERCY JACKSON VS HARRY POTTER


This has always been a topic everyone is mostly afraid of. Think of it like a political or religious topic: We all want to discuss it but we're afraid of where it could lead us. Well, I found this very intriguing so I'll touch a few points. Now, I respect both fandoms, and even though I like them both, I still prefer Percy Jackson over Harry Potter. Sorry, Potterheads. Mainly because of the main character and the way it reacts when the problems arrive. So if you are a Harry Potter fan, I asure you will like Percy Jackson. I read Harry Potter before I read Percy Jackson, so I think that was the reason why I saw certain things coming. Here are a few common aspects PJ shares with HP:

  1. The messed-up character's family: While Harry didn't have any parents at all, Percy did have a mother but had a very bad relationship with his father because he (Poseidon, god of sea, and Percy's dad) had to leave him when Percy was a baby.

  2. The trio of friends: This really remained me a lot of Harry Potter because in both of them (Harry's and Percy's pair of friends) there was a wise girl (Hermione/Annabeth), and a loyal, always-hungry friend (Ron/Grover).

  3. The thing going on with not mentioning the bad guys name: In Harry Potter is Voldemort, and in Percy Jackson are the greek gods name. Stil, both of our main characters were not afraid of calling them by their names.

  4. They both assist to a place where they get to learn everything there is to know: Hogwarts in Harry's case, and Camp Half-Blood in Percy's.

  5. The bad guy.

This doesn't mean that Percy Jackson is a retelling of Harry Potter, nor backwards. No. They both share things in common, yes, but that's it. The story, the way the characters act and think are pretty damn different. And I really believe you will appreciate this.


The Percy Jackson's series contains 5 books. If you're in mood for monsters and mythological heroes, then fast and fun-read Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson in exactly what you need. Follow Percy's amazing adventures while you met unforgattable characters almost as the league of our main character himself. If you haven't read Percy Jackson, you should totally do it. Stop doubting. Just start reading. Yes, it is a children's book but it's just so well-written that will make you sigh and laugh all at once.


Rating 5'5





Percy Jackson book series:


Till next time, demigods! With love,










bottom of page